#700174 November 27th 2015 2:04 am
V
VanSolo Offline OP
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
V
Hey all,

First, thanks for all the responses to prior questions. I'm still learning the ins-and-outs of this old machine that's about as big, old, and nimble as an Ankylosaurus. But every bit as cool. As a reminder, it's an 86 Chevy Beauville G20. I will post pictures.

So... I'm driving down the road, rockin' out, windows down, and it smells like exhaust fumes are getting sucked into the cabin. The smell comes in waves. It's intermittent and sort of sweet smelling (van running rich?). Anyway, when I put the windows up I don't seem to have this problem. (If I do, the smell is lost in all the weird and wonderful normal odors of a 29 year old van).

To me, it sounds like with the windows down and the van moving, I'm creating a vacuum where the exhaust is getting sucked in. I have a relatively small rust spot in the quarter panel in front of the exhaust outlet. It looks like it was patched up by the previous owner. Could the fumes be getting sucked up underneath, through there? Even though it doesn't *look* that bad/big? Could the seals in the windows be shot? Perhaps there are some small holes in the exhaust (it's the original). Even if there were holes in the exhaust, I'm not sure if this would, alone, result in fumes getting sucked into the interior without a hole in the body or window seals or something.

Anyone deal with this issue before? The smell isn't horrible but it probably could be dangerous. I was definitely feeling a little light headed after awhile, and not in a good way. Would hate pass out and flip my van into a ditch. What a pitiful -- albeit stylin' -- way to go.

Thanks in advance.....

Re: Exhaust fumes getting me stoned
VanSolo #700177 November 27th 2015 11:56 am
My 1st thought would be the rear door seals are shot.

2nd is there is a hole on the floor near the rear.

3rd exhaust manifold leak & its coming thru thru fire wall.

SUNSHINE VANS-VAN DIEGO